September 23, 2013

Office of Governor Rick Scott State of Florida The Capitol 400 S. Monroe St. Tallahassee, FL 32399-0001

Dear Governor Scott,

On behalf of afflicted coastal residents, South Florida taxpayers and millions of people whose drinking water depends on a restored Everglades, we call on the State of Florida to complete the purchase of up to 153,000 acres of U.S. Sugar lands before the exclusive option expires next month.

Five years ago, the South Florida Water Management District announced it would purchase 187,000 acres of U.S. Sugar's land south of Lake Okeechobee to restore clean water to the Everglades and provide relief to coastal estuaries. On October 12, 2010, the District closed on a contract to purchase 26,800 acres of land for \$197 million, while retaining a three-year exclusive option for the rest.

The state's exclusive 3-year option -- to purchase either a specifically identified 46,800 acres or the entire 153,000 acres at a fixed price of \$7,400 per acre -- will expire next month forcing the state to pay market prices for the land and compete with other buyers.

On November 18, 2010, the Florida Supreme Court ruled that the U.S. Sugar purchase "serves the public purpose of conserving and protecting water and water-related resources."

Never before has that public purpose been more evident. Coastal estuaries served by the Caloosahatchee and St. Lucie Rivers are collapsing along with their local economies. While short-term solutions can provide limited relief, the permanent solution is to send more water south to the Everglades by buying more sugar land to store, clean and eventually flow water south.

The purchase of U.S. Sugar lands before October 12, 2013, represents the most cost-efficient method for storing, treating and moving water south. We strongly urge you to make the investment in Florida's future at a price that may never come again.

Sincerely,

Frank Jackalone Senior Staff Manager Sierra Club

Jennifer Hecker
Director of Natural Resource Policy
Conservancy of Southwest Florida

Manley Fuller President and CEO

Florida Wildlife Federation

Rae Ann Wessel

Natural Resource Policy Director

**Sanibel Captiva Conservation Foundation** 

Kathleen E. Aterno Florida Director Clean Water Action

Katie Tripp, Ph.D.

Director of Science and Conservation

Save the Manatee Club

Sandy Gilbert Chairman START

(Solutions To Avoid Red Tide)

Linda Young

Florida Clean Water Network

Burton Eno PhD, PE (ret)

President

Rainbow River Conservation, Inc.

Donna Melzer

**Martin County Conservation Alliance** 

Dan Hilliard Director W.A.R., Inc.

**Kings Bay Springs Alliance** 

Peter Anderson

Chairman, President and CEO

**REEF RELIEF** 

Karen Fraley, CIG

Sarasota Bay Guardians Coordinator

Manager/Naturalist

**Around the Bend Nature Tours LLC** 

John McCabe President

**Ding Darling Wildlife Society** 

Mark Perry

**Executive Director** 

Florida Oceanographic Society

Michael J/ Holsinger

**Holsinger Horticultural Services** 

Russ Hoffman **Beautiful Ponds** 

Carol Leonard Board of Directors

Coastal Wildlife Club, Inc.

Terry Brant

Legislative/Legal Affairs Chairman Florida Water Conservation Trust

American Health Trust

**Island Aeromarine Services** 

Alexis Segal Executive Director

Biscayne Bay Waterkeeper

Mike Chenoweth

President

Florida Division of the

**Izaak Walton League of America** 

Florida Keys Chapter of the Izaak Walton League of America

Pamela Pierce

**Cypress Chapter of the** 

**Izaak Walton League of America** 

Michael Orchin

**Cape Coral Friends of Wildlife** 

Laurie Macdonald

Director, Florida Programs

**Defenders of Wildlife** 

Matthew Schwartz Executive Director

**South Florida Wildlands Association** 

John Adornato III

Sun Coast Regional Director

**National Parks Conservation Association** 

Debbie Matthews Sierra Club Florida

Elinor Williams

President

Friends of Arthur R. Marshall

Loxahatchee National Wildlife Refuge

Steve Brodkin President

**Concerned Citizens of Bayshore Community, Inc.** 

Charles Sobczak
Lee Reefs

John Marshall Chairman

Arthur R. Marshall Foundation

Alan Farago President

Friends of the Everglades

Karja Hansen President

**Urban Environment League** 

Charles Pattison

1000 Friends of Florida